About the Society

The Society for Germanic Linguistics (SGL), founded in 1968, is the largest and most active organization in North America to serve the broad community of scholars teaching and researching in Germanic Linguistics and Philology. The international membership of the SGL embraces all areas of and approaches to Germanic linguistics and philology, from formal syntax and phonology through historical linguistics to textual editing. The Society represents scholars investigating languages such as Modern German, Dutch, Yiddish, the Scandinavian languages, Afrikaans, Pennsylvania German, English before 1500, and Gothic, as well as texts and manuscripts in these languages. The Society publishes the Journal of Germanic Linguistics (JGL), which appears quarterly. The international Germanic Linguistics Annual Conference (GLAC) is held each spring under the auspices of the Society.

Society for Germanic Linguistics

Officers and Executive Committee for 2017

President, David Fertig (2016-2018)
Vice-President, Jeannette Marsh (2015-2017)
Secretary, Mary Grantham O'Brien (2017-2019)
Treasurer, Carlee Arnett (2017-2019)

Executive Committee, the preceding and
John Sundquist (2015-2017)
Dorian Roehrs (2015-2017)
Laura Catharine Smith (2016-2018)
Tonya Kim Dewey (2016-2018)
Chris Sapp (2017-2019)
Katerina Somers (2017-2019)

Representing the Executive Committee of the Discussion Group for Germanic Philology, Modern Language Association of America (ex officio)
Stephen Carey

Co-Editors, SGL Newsletter (ex officio)
Katerina Somers
John Sundquist

Chair, JGL Editorial Committee (ex officio)
Tracy Alan Hall

The Bylaws of the Society for Germanic Linguistics, as last amended and ratified by the membership on April 21, 2017.

Return to top